In this article
- Project Owner Capabilities
- Shared Project Ownership
1. Project Owner Capabilities
The Project Owner is a Creator and as such can:
- Create, edit and update projects.
- Add and update data.
- Publish projects to other Creator and Explorer users.
- Combine multiple data sources and harmonize into single project trees.
- Create, combine, group, shape, align, relabel and design data in the project tree.
- Include custom variables, weights, measures, bases.
- Create constructions available to all other users.
- Create, save and share analyses.
- Create dashboards.
Only a project owner can change and publish data to a broader group.
People that hold the Creator Role The highest level of access, permission, and control. Learn more about User Roles. within Harmoni have the permissions to create Projects, and then edit and share.
2. Shared Project Ownership
Sharing Project Ownership can be beneficial when dealing with large or varied data sources. It also can leverage the knowledge of different people with different subject matter expertise.
To facilitate collaboration, the Project Owner can share the project owner status with another Creator.
There can only be one project owner active at any given time.
Editing a Project
When you create a project, it automatically loads in edit mode (the pen icon is orange). But when you load the project again, you'll need to click the edit pen to switch on edit mode.
To ensure there is no conflict or duplication (e.g., people trying to change the same thing at the same time) Harmoni applies a "One owner at a time" policy, that is, only one owner can be editing the project at any given time.
If you load a project which is being edited by another project owner, Harmoni will let you know.
Once the project owner switches off edit mode, Harmoni will let you know if you have the project loaded.
When you click the edit button, the project is locked. This stops another project owner from editing the project at the same time.
The following actions release the lock:
- The user clicks the edit button to deactivate it.
- The user closes their browser. But…
- In some instances, it may take Harmoni a few minutes to release the lock (about 10 minutes). Please be patient if you accidentally close the browser and try to access the project right away.
- If a user closes their browser while an operation is running in Harmoni, the lock is not released until the action is completed.
What happens when I close my browser while an operation is still running?
Closing the browser does not stop the operation from running. You need to wait until the action completes before you can access the project again to continue editing. The downside to closing the browser is that you cannot know when the action completes. The Infotools Support team cannot stop the operation from running. The action completing is what causes the lock to release.
What if I'm waiting a really long time?
First, you'll need to consider the operation you have set in action. It may seem like a straightforward task, but you must also consider the follow-on actions. For example, a base change can affect hundreds of items in a project and may be used in many construction definitions. If auto-sync is off and you sync the changes, it may take time to build the analysis data if you have made many changes.
If you believe you have waited too long and Harmoni should have released the lock, please get in touch with Support (email@example.com). If an error has occurred, they can help to resolve the situation.
If Harmoni is running an operation while in edit mode, and you exit
the project, the operation will continue to run, and the project
remains locked until the operation is complete.
Always ensure that any operation is completed before closing the browser.
Sharing Other Entities
When you share ownership of the project it does not share the ownership of any other Harmoni entities, i.e. Stories or Dashboards.
Learn more about sharing:
Where to from here?