Share with your team! The Project Owner can create, work on and adjust an Infotools Harmoni project. When ready, the owner can publish to others.
If you are not ready to share with a wider audience, but still want some user to access the project preview Learn more about Preview. is a good option.
The Project Owner can share their project with others for distribution of the project data. The owner will have the ultimate rights to publish data changes to a wider distribution group.
In this article
1. Choose who to share with
An Infotools Harmoni project can be published to make it available to other users. The project owner can select which users to give access to the project's data and information.
Depending on the role of the user shared to, they will gain access to the Project or associated Stories and Dashboards, under their access permission.
- Creators can view the project and shared story or dashboard that contains projects published to them. Can create new analyses, stories, and dashboards.
- Explorers can view the project and shared story or dashboard that contains projects published to them. Can create new analyses and stories.
- Viewers can view any shared story or dashboard that contains projects published to them.
To give access to stories and dashboards:
Ensure users are in the publish group and then share a link to your story, story view or dashboard.
2. How to publish
When ready to share your project under the action pane you will find the publish button. Once you select, it will open the publish interface.
Displays information about the current project owner. To transfer ownership, the current owner can drag n drop a creator user from the project user list under. Learn more about Project Ownership
Changing ownership of the project does not change ownership of any stories.
- The current owner - drags n drop the creator user you want to transfer ownership too.
- A warning message is displayed, and confirmation is required.
- Once changed, the old owner will not have ownership rights until this ownership is reinstated to them by the new owner.
Only users registered for the site Learn more about user registration. appear in the list of available users to publish to. The list displayed is limited to users from the project owner's primary company. Users appear in groups.
To publish, select the users or group you want to publish to and then the Publish button. The Publish button only becomes active if there have been changes in the project.
- Clicking Toggle All will automatically select/deselect all users.
- Clicking on the group publishes to everyone in the group at that time.
- Users added to a group at a later stage are not automatically published to. The Project Owner will need to re-publish the project.
- Select users.
- Click Publish.
- To go back to your project click the publish button under the action pane.
The Publish button won't be enabled unless there have been changes in your project. You can still share with newly added users by simply selecting the users..
You can remove users to no longer access the Project, and Stories and Dashboard views that link to the Project.
- Click on the users you want to remove.
- Click Publish
At the top of the publish pane you will find the date and time of when the project was last published. The information displays local time according to user settings.
3. What happens after publishing
Publish pushes out dictionary and data updates.
- It updates the project version other users see and use for creating views and stories.
- Users can see the project in its last published state (Creator and Explorer).
- Additional sources added to a project become available to all users.
- Sources updated in the project become available to all users.
- Story views and dashboards update with the latest data.
4. Example scenarios
Here are some scenarios of use:
|User||MikeUntil the project is created there can be no owner.||Sarah||Tim||Kate|
Mike prepares a project by adding data sources and harmonizing labels and items against a survey design.
Once completed, he publishes the project to share with Sarah and Tim.
Sarah has the role of a Creator.
She will immediately see Mike’s project available in her projects list. She can load the project and will be able to add new items.
Tim has Explorer access.
In his project list, Tim can see the project that was published by Mike. Tim can load the project and explore and analyze the data through crosstabs, charting and stories.
|Custom Variables||Mike can’t see Sarah’s custom variables.||Sarah loads the project that was published by Mike. Sarah then creates some custom variables. These items are personal to Sarah. Sarah can’t change any of Mike’s items within the original project.||Tim can’t see Sarah’s custom variables. Tim can’t create custom variables.|
|Publish Updated Project||Mike updates the project with new data sources and additional constructions.||Sarah has access to the latest data and additional items created by Mike. Sarah’s items remain but will inherit the latest data updates.||Tim has access to the latest data and additional items created by Mike.|
|Sharing Stories and Dashboards||Mike creates a project, analyses the data and discovers some important and interesting views. These views are saved into stories. Mike also creates a dashboard. Mike wants to share with Kate. First, he publishes his project to Kate and then Mike copies the URL to the dashboard, story or story views and sends to Kate by e-mail.||Kate has Viewer access. She can access the Dashboard, Stories, and Story Views through the URL link that Mike sent to her via e-mail.|
Sharing Stories and Dashboards with Custom variables
|Mike creates a project and publishes to Sarah.||Sarah can create custom variables. Sarah’s new items will only show to Sarah. If she creates a story view, a story or a dashboard that utilizes the new items, these will not show to others if shared. However anytime Sarah views the stories, views or dashboards, these items will show to her. Sarah can also choose to export the 'views' to excel and PPT and share with others this way.|
Where to from here?
Learn more about User Roles.